Half way point

baby_mirror

I am so excited by the way Blue Block is working out in the communities. Any fears and insecurities were either unnecessary or we have managed to combat them. I can’t believe the very positive response –I look into the feedback box with slight trepidation because I want to take on board any negative feedback – every single time I’ve been at Blue Block every single response is amazing. I’m starting to get suspicious… ‘Becki are you filtering these?’ I’m not used to this.. I always want to make things that are unusual and unfamiliar – which can often cause more awkward reactions. But these reactions are just so nice!  It’s a dream!

Blue Block Studio is just what we set out for it to be. which is unusual too – it didn’t make any major tangents during the process of realising it. I’ve always said in artist statements that ‘In my work I want to lift spirits, create fantastical worlds and encourage people (big and little) to think and act playfully. Blue Block studio kind of fulfills a lot of these ideas for early years and their adults. The team had a really strong collective vision that we managed to bring to life. It is, in my eyes a little haven which can work almost anywhere (that has electricity and is big enough). So far it has been in a shopping centre where we able to invite people in who were just out getting their messages, it has been in an odd green room at the back of a community centre, a few studio theatres, and it’s going on a boat to Mull soon before going to international art space Tramway for the Commonwealth Games.

When I’m inside the Block I look around and see such lovely relationships and communication – I feel like it is good for me as well as the others. I’m surprised at how relaxed and playful the adults are everywhere we go. I think it has a lot to do with Becki and her warm and non-judgemental style and her introduction – she tells us that ‘ it’s a bit like an art gallery or a museum but you get to touch and play with everything – you can’t go wrong’. Then she asks them to ‘forget about everything else and be in the moment with your baby for the next 30 minutes or so’.  I think that this set up really works.. along with Kim’s beautiful dreamy music the adults often take the lead at first, and then their baby takes over, and then they enjoy babies who they don’t know coming into their game or up onto their lap.

Blue Block Studio43

The informal style of Blue Block has let us have some good conversations along the way that sometimes you can miss out on after a theatre show. There’s going to be a similar ball run to ours in a child’s bedroom soon – the nurseries have picked up ideas – particularly keen on the projectors and the white space – we’ve been told it would work brilliantly in a school for children with additional support needs – and other artists have talked to me about making work for children and how they never considered it before having their own.. but would like to now. The babies’ response has been generally the happiest looking group of little people I’ve seen.. although we (Becki, Yvonne and I) have no fear of tears and all things natural with babies – they really have been very happy – I think Geraldine is about to release a film showing their feedback and squealy wee excited bodies.

I have to say that this dream like ease and happiness has a lot of behind the scenes elbow grease, and incredible problem solving skills from the legend and project / production manager Zoe Squair – she’s a quiet one who could do all the hard work and never take any credit but she deserves soooo much credit!

Becki and Yvonne are not bad too – in fact they are amazing. I feel like its their Block now and it couldn’t be in better hands.

IMG_0238

Leave a comment